spring pea hummus

Hello again!

Today’s post is this fresh and minty spring pea hummus.

IMG_1198

I know I personally called this recipe a hummus, but I named it so to keep up with the trend of all the different hummus recipes.

Until now I was convinced that hummus strictly had to have a base of chickpeas, but it seems as though people have been coming up with so many different hummus recipes that actually have not chickpeas at all. So, I’m simply going to go with the flow.

Let’s move on, whether or not you want to call this a hummus or simply a spring pea dip, they’ll have the most important thing in common: the amazing fresh flavor.

IMG_1195

My small obsession with Spring Peas started when I had the Spring Pea soup at ABC Kitchen, and got even stronger when I had the Spring Pea tartine at Pain Quotidien..
I soon realized I had to utilize the legume myself.

If you’ve tried them you’ll see I was greatly inspired by these two establishments’ recipes as I paired my hummus with a good dose of mint, as they did.

I find that one of my greatest sources of inspirations for anything I create is seeking to recreating a specific taste, only this time, making it my own.

Here goes:

Ingredients:

– 2 cups of Frozen Spring Peas
– 1 small White Onion
– 2 cloves of Garlic (or 3 If you love it like I do)
– 1 tbsp of Tahini
– the juice of 1 Lemon
– 1/2 tbsp of Olive Oil
– a bunch of Fresh Mint Leaves (to taste)

The execution is really simple.

The first thing you want to do is boil the peas in some water for a few minutes. You’ll know they’re ready cause they’ll come up to the surface.

Strain the peas and run them under some cold water to cool the temperature down.
Then simply place all the ingredients in a blender and blend, blend, blend.

Yes, it’s that easy and delicious!

I keep my hummus in the fridge and found that it can keep in an airtight container for at least 3 days.

I don’t know for how much longer it stays fresh because I’ve usually finished it at that point!

Enjoy it as a wonderful dip for your carrots and celery, as a spread on your morning toast, or take-to-work sandwich, and even on salads for some creamy healthy goodness!

Much Love,
xxxxxxx

Leave a Reply

