homemade falafel

Hello everyone’

back with another of my favorite recipes.

homemade baked falafel!

I personally love having falafel anywhere I go, but I always find other falafel too greasy or dislike the fact that they are usually fried/

So I thought this was a great opportunity to create my own! If you make them, you’ll see they are quite different from your average falafel because they are quite creamy in the middle. I personally like this and enjoy the contrast of the crispy outside to the creamy center, but if that’s not something you like, which I don’t know why you wouldn’t, this may not be the recipe for you.

Now that I’ve done a poor job of advertising my delicious recipe lets move on.

IMG_2294

I chose to include simple ingredients that pack tons of flavor. This makes these falafel super healthy, super low in fat, and inexpensive.

The flavors work together beautifully! It’s not too unexpected as these are some of the dominant flavors in middle-eastern cooking.

IMG_2295

Making this is super simple and simply requires a strong blender or food processor. If you don’t have one, you can also try to mash everything together with a fork or potato masher. I have personally done this myself… It wasn’t too fun, but I’ll probably do it again the day I’m angry at someone and in dire need of crushing something. – Hey, cooking is therapeutic isn’t it?!

IMG_2299.jpg

Above all, I suggest using a food processor, as the pulsing option is optimal for falafel. The blender makes them into more of a puree, which ends up being creamier than ordinary. Though I like it, traditional falafel are a bit more chunky.

IMG_2305

You’ll notice that some of the measurements for the ingredients in the list are pretty loose. That’s because as long as you keep a balance in the blend, things such as the amount of herbs or the amount of garlic are strictly dependent on your liking. I would suggest keeping the measurements for the chickpeas, olive oil and lemon stable, and then experimenting with the amount of spices, garlic and herbs you put in your falafel.

IMG_2307.jpg

I personally love having my falafel with a Mediterranean Salad, which includes spinach, tomato, cucumber, grilled eggplant and parsley. Simply topped off with some lemon juice and sea salt.
Ingredients:

– 2 cans of chickpeas
– 1/2 an onion
– 4-5 cloves of garlic
– 1 tablespoon of olive oil
– the juice of 1 lemon
– a bunch of parsley
– a bunch of cilantro
– 2 teaspoons of cumin
– 1 teaspoon of salt

Optional:
– Chickpea Flour
– Additional Olive Oil for brushing

Method:

– First, preheat your oven to 400 degrees Fahrenheit
– Drain and rinse the chickpeas
– Chop the onion
– Coarsely chop your herbs
– Place all ingredients in blender or food processor and blend until desired consistency
– If you find that your batter is too runny, start by adding 1/2 cup of chickpea flour
– Scoop out equal amounts of your blend and form small patties.
– Place them on a parchment lined baking sheet
– To increase crunchiness of the outside of the falafel, brush some olive oil on them – This is an optional step, which I usually do not take.
– Bake them at 400 degrees Fahrenheit for 30-35 minutes, flipping them carefully halfway through.

 

Leave a Reply

